Barnes & Mullins UK2C Ukulele

The Ukulele Wall

I’d like to attempt to review this Ukulele, but I have to admit I’m not proficient enough to do it justice. However, after a few weeks with a cheap soprano uke, upgraded with Aquila strings, even a novice like me can notice the difference. See my previous post for more on my new found ukulele addiction.

This Barnes & Mullins model is an end of range model made with “Spalt Maple”. I originally thought this was a typo, referring to the split pattern on the back of the instrument, but it’s actually a natural discolouration of wood caused by fungi. It gives the wood an incredible pattern, used to great advantage by some woodworkers, including Barnes & Mullins who crafted this uke.

What gives it some advantage is no doubt the craftsmanship and materials, but this particular uke is a ‘Concert’ size, which gives my fingers a little more room on the fretboard, handy for practicing those awkward chords. Beginners ukes are normally soprano size, really tricky for beginners to get to grips with I reckon. The sound though is deep, clear and toneful, difficult to explain, but side by side with my cheap uke, there’s simply no comparison.

Moving between chords is easier and slicker, so it’s more rewarding to play not just in sound, but in movement as well.

Then, it is just incredible to look at. Everyone who sees it comments how beautiful it is. Highly polished, smooth to the touch, it’s something to behold.

 As far as I know, the company I bought this from (Omega Music) purchased the last remaining stock, so if you want one, be quick!

They do have this model in other sizes, Soprano, Concert, Tenor.

Even if you are a beginner, but you want to spend a little more money on something decent that will almost certainly make learning easier and certainly more rewarding, then one of these lovely instruments can’t be a bad choice!


  

4 Responses to Barnes & Mullins UK2C Ukulele

  1. Geoff Cook says:

    I handled the Soprano version of this uke at Fox Music in Grantham, and it was really sweet, but I did not want another soprano. Why am I smiling? Well, I am expecting my B&M Concert spalt maple to arrive today!!!

  2. simontaylor says:

    You’ll love it. I now have a Honu Mango concert as well, and I’m split between the two. The Honu has a softer sound, where the B&M is more pronounced.

  3. Stan says:

    Hi,
    I am wondering if you still have your Barnes and Mullins uke and if so how do you rate it now you have had a lot more experience. I am torn between one of these and a solid top Ohana of similar price. I am new to the ukulele scene and can already feel the awesome pull of these fascinating instruments.
    Kind regards,
    Stan.

    • simontaylor says:

      I still love it, very well made (mine is spelt maple), lovely tone. It would be difficult to decide between those two, though.

Leave a Reply

